Susumu Seino
2017 Winner of the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

The Manpei Suzuki Diabetes Foundation is pleased to announce the 2017 winner of the International Prize:

Susumu Seino, MD, DMSci
Professor and Endowed Chair
Division of Molecular and Metabolic Medicine,
Department of Physiology and Cell Biology,
Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine

Dr. Susumu Seino will be awarded a Certificate of Honor, US$150,000 and
a Japanese objet d’art at the award ceremony on March 7th, 2018.

The Selection Committee highly recognized his extensive and groundbreaking contributions over years to many landmark discoveries in cellular signaling pathways regulating insulin secretion, which is the key to understand molecular pathogenesis and treatment of type 2 diabetes.

Dr. Susumu Seino was therefore selected a Prize winner of this year.

~ 2017 Selection Committee Members ~

Dr. Masato Kasuga (Chairman)

Honorary President
National Center for Global Health and Medicine, Japan

Dr. Hiroshi Yamamoto

Adviser and Professor Emeritus
Kanazawa University, Japan

Dr. Toshihiko Yada

Professor, Department of Physiology, Division of Integrative Physiology
Jichi Medical University School of Medicine, Japan

Dr. Daniel J. Drucker

Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Senior Scientist, Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute
Mt. Sinai Hospital, Canada

Dr. Takashi Kadowaki

Professor and Chairman
Department of Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases
Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo, Japan

2016 Winner
2015 Winner
2014 Winner
2013 Winner
2012 Winner
2011 Winner
2010 Winner
2009 Winner
2008 Winner