2020 Winner of the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

The Manpei Suzuki Diabetes Foundation is pleased to announce the 2020 winner of the International Prize:

Domenico Accili, MD
Chief, Division of Endocrinology
Russell Berrie Foundation Professor
Director, Columbia Diabetes Research Center College of Physicians & Surgeons of Columbia University New York, NY, USA

Dr. Domenico Accili will be awarded a Certificate of Honor, US$150,000 and
a Japanese objet d’art on March, 2021. The award ceremony will be held on March, 2022.

The Selection Committee highly recognized his extensive and groundbreaking contribution over years to many landmark discoveries especially the one elucidating the fundamental role of FOXO 1 in ubiquitous insulin biochemical signals in different organs, which is key to understanding molecular pathogenesis and treatment of type2 diabetes.

Dr. Domenico Accili was therefore selected a Prize winner of this year.

~ 2020 Selection Committee Members ~

Dr. Takashi Kadowaki (Chairman)

President, Toranomon Hospital

Dr. Nobuya Inagaki

Professor and Chairman
Department of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Nutrition
Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine

Dr. Makoto Daimon

Professor, Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Hirosaki University Graduate School of Medicine

Dr. Philipp E. Scherer

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Gifford O. Touchstone Jr. and Randolph G. Touchstone
Distinguished Chair in Diabetes Research
Director, Touchstone Diabetes Center
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Prof. Sir Stephen O'Rahilly

Director, Wellcome Trust-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science-Metabolic Research Institute  University of Cambridge
Head of Department of Clinical Biochemistry, University of Cambridge
Scientific Director, Cambridge NIHR Biomedical Research Centre
Honorary Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

2019 Winner
2018 Winner
2017 Winner
2016 Winner
2015 Winner
2014 Winner
2013 Winner
2012 Winner
2011 Winner
2010 Winner
2009 Winner
2008 Winner