Susumu Seino
2018 Winner of the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

The Manpei Suzuki Diabetes Foundation is pleased to announce the 2018 winner of the International Prize:

Phillip E. Scherer, PhD
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Gifford O. Touchstone Jr. and Randolph G. Touchstone
Distinguished Chair in Diabetes Research
Director, Touchstone Diabetes Center
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Phillip E. Scherer will be awarded a Certificate of Honor, US$150,000 and
a Japanese objet d’art at the award ceremony on March 6th, 2019.

The Selection Committee highly recognized his pioneering contributions to identifying adiponectin, and to discovering this adipokine's insulin-sensitizing, anti-diabetic function and the molecular mechanism behind it, all of which, together with his recent scientific achievements, have both deepened and widened our understanding of diabetes,obesity and energy homeostasis.

Dr. Phillip E. Scherer was therefore selected a Prize winner of this year.

~ 2018 Selection Committee Members ~

Dr. Hiroshi Yamamoto (Chairman)

President, Komatsu University
Professor Emeritus, Kanazawa University

Dr. Toshihiko Yada

Director, Center for Integrative Physiology, Kansai Electric Power Medical Institute
Visiting Professor, Kobe University and Jichi Medical University

Dr. Takashi Kadowaki

Project Professor, Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo
Full-time Visiting Professor, Mizonokuchi Hospital, Department of Medicine,Teikyo University

Dr. Jeffrey M. Friedman

Professor, Rockefeller University
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dr. Susumu Seino

Professor and Chairman
Endowed Professor and Chair, Division of Molecular and Metabolic Medicine,Department of Physiology and Cell Biology,
Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine

2017 Winner
2016 Winner
2015 Winner
2014 Winner
2013 Winner
2012 Winner
2011 Winner
2010 Winner
2009 Winner
2008 Winner